ICML Awards Recognize Excellence in Lubrication and Oil Analysis

Suzy Jamieson, ICML

Now that you have put so much effort into implementing best practices for lubrication or oil analysis at your facility, it is time to get the recognition you and your team deserve.

The International Council for Machinery Lubrication (ICML) wants to help you tell the world your story so your success can be celebrated and known beyond the realm of your facility. The John R. Battle and Augustus H. Gill awards were developed to benchmark industry by recognizing companies for their use of world-class best practices in lubrication and oil analysis programs for improved machine reliability. The focus of the awards is not just to identify award recipients but to encourage performance of excellence and create a means to share best practices among user organizations on a global scale.

ICML Awards Criteria

  • Condition monitoring
  • Commitment to education and skills competencies
  • Maintenance culture and management support
  • Preventive, predictive and proactive program design and effectiveness
  • Technology integration
  • Use of information technology
  • Use of standardized procedures
  • Contamination control
  • Performance metrics and reporting
  • Continuous improvement
  • Lubrication management

The ICML awards criteria have become a roadmap for companies in their quest for excellence in their programs. The criteria were designed to evaluate areas that have proven to have great impact in the increased reliability of machinery where lubrication and oil analysis practices are concerned.

ICML’s awards committee is comprised of top-level professionals from a variety of industries with vast experience in the development of world-class programs. These volunteers, who can mentor future award winners, are looking to give back to industry by identifying programs and teams of individuals at the sites. The award recipient programs provide much needed positive examples and encouragement for practitioners embarking on the journey toward better management of lubricated assets.

ICML Award Recipients

Previous Augustus H. Gill Award Winners
  • Arizona Public Service, Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station (PVNGS)
  • J.R. Simplot, Smoky Canyon Mine
  • Southern Company, Georgia Power’s Plant Branch
  • Rio Tinto, Kennecott Energy Maintenance and Reliability Group
  • Clopay Plastics, Augusta, Ky.
  • Great River Energy, Coal Creek Station
  • Energizer Battery, Maryville Plant
  • International Paper, Courtland Plant
Previous John R. Battle Award Winners
  • Clopay Plastics, Augusta, Ky.
  • Valero Energy Corp., Port Arthur Refinery
  • Cargill Corn Milling, Wahpeton, N.D.
  • Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis, Ind.
  • Invista, Victoria, Texas
  • Minera Yanacocha, Newmont Mining Corp. (Peru)
  • Visy Pulp and Paper, Gibson Island Plant (Australia)

Join the world-class team of ICML award recipients and become part of a program that inspires others. Nominate your site today for the Battle or Gill award. The ICML awards are free of charge and open to company sites worldwide that have demonstrated excellence in machinery lubrication and oil analysis programs. However, to remain unbiased, it is ICML’s policy that all nominations come from you and/or other plant personnel.

So don’t delay. Help your team show corporate that industry as a whole appreciates what they have done. Apply for an ICML award. To submit a nomination for one of ICML’s recognition of excellence awards, email your plant information to info@lubecouncil.org.


Subscribe to Machinery Lubrication

About the Author