Exelon Named Gill Award Winner

Suzy Hitchcock, ICML

Exelon’s Phil Silveri (left) and Nishant
Prasad (center) accepted the Augustus
H. Gill Award from ICML executive
director Suzy Hitchcock (right) at the
recent Reliable Plant Conference and
Exhibition in Cleveland, Ohio.


Exelon Wind has been chosen as the recipient of this year’s International Council for Machinery Lubrication (ICML) Augustus H. Gill Award for excellence in the application of oil analysis. A division of Exelon Generation, Exelon Wind maintains, operates and manages 47 wind farms in 10 states. Nishant Prasad, senior engineer of operations and maintenance at Exelon Generation, along with senior engineer Phil Silveri accepted the award on behalf of Exelon during the recent 2015 Reliable Plant Conference and Exhibition in Cleveland, Ohio.

“I would like to thank the judges and ICML for recognizing and conferring the Augustus H. Gill Award to Exelon Generation, particularly Exelon Wind,” said Prasad. “This was an effort from multiple teams across the organization and, of course, external labs that help us evaluate and test the oil. This has helped Exelon reduce our failure rates, improve our energy capture and improve the reliability of the plant.”

Exelon joins previous Gill award recipients Arizona Public Service (Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station), J.R. Simplot (Smoky Canyon Mine), Southern Company (Georgia Power), Rio Tinto (Kennecott Energy), Clopay Plastics (Augusta Plant), Great River Energy (Coal Creek Station), Energizer Battery (Maryville Plant) and International Paper (Courtland Plant).

ICML congratulates the entire Exelon team involved in the plant’s oil analysis program on their journey toward world-class status.

Designed to motivate companies to improve machine reliability and maintenance quality through the application of oil analysis, the Augustus H. Gill Award has specific criteria for potential recipients. These include:

  • Commitment to education
  • Maintenance culture and management support
  • Performance measurements used
  • Proactive/predictive maintenance
  • Use of standardized procedures
  • Technology integration
  • Contamination control
  • Lubrication management
  • Oil analysis methods and strategies
  • Use of information technology
  • Continuous improvement

Both the Augustus H. Gill and John R. Battle awards are open to organizations worldwide independent of any involvement with ICML. Currently, there is no charge to participate in the awards process. However, in order to avoid bias, ICML has chosen a policy by which it does not nominate companies. Nominations must come from the companies directly via an application.

If you know of an organization that deserves to be recognized for its machinery lubrication or oil analysis program, encourage them to apply for an ICML award.

To submit a nomination for one of ICML’s recognition of excellence awards, visit www.lubecouncil.org and click “awards.” The online application form can be downloaded and returned as the required information is gathered. Supporting documentation can then be uploaded as the application is submitted.

Subscribe to Machinery Lubrication

About the Author