API Unveils New Engine Oil Standards

Noria news wires

The American Petroleum Institute (API) recently announced the approval of improved performance standards for engine oils to provide greater protection and fuel efficiency for gasoline-engine-powered cars and trucks.

Two of the new standards, ILSAC GF-6A and GF-6B, are the latest in a line of more stringent performance specifications put forward by the International Lubricant Standardization Advisory Committee (ILSAC). A third standard, AP SP, is API’s latest engine oil performance standard. It includes all the ILSAC requirements while providing performance requirements for oils that do not fall under ILSAC-member recommendations. 

The new standards specify more stringent engine oil performance requirements for spark-ignited internal combustion engines. All three standards can be licensed under API’s Engine Oil Licensing and Certification System beginning May 1, 2020.

“API developed these new performance standards in response to a request from automakers to introduce more robust engine oils that would be capable of meeting the needs of current and future gasoline engines,” said Kevin Ferrick, director of API’s product programs. “ILSAC GF-6A, GF-6B and API SP represent the fruits of the oil, additive and automobile industries’ labors to introduce such essential products for the people who use these vehicles every day.”

The development of ILSAC GF-6A, GF-6B and API SP was completed over seven years. In that time, seven new tests were developed, evaluated and measured for precision. Testing was performed to demonstrate that oils can meet the more stringent requirements. Now, oil marketing companies are working to bring the oils that meet these standards to market to ensure current and future engines perform as designed.

Licensed oils that meet the ILSAC GF-6A standard will be allowed to display the API certification mark “starburst” and may be used where oils meeting GF-5 or earlier gasoline engine oil standards had been recommended. Oils that meet ILSAC GF-6B will be allowed to display a new mark, the API certification mark “shield,” and may be used where SAE 0W-16 oils meeting API SN had been recommended. API is introducing this new “shield” at the request of automakers to prevent confusion and to ensure that 0W-16 oils are used only in applications where they are recommended.

API standards are developed under the organization’s American National Standards Institute accredited process, ensuring that the standards are recognized not only for their technical rigor but also their third-party accreditation, which facilitates acceptance by state, federal and international regulators.

For more information, visit www.api.org.

Subscribe to Machinery Lubrication

About the Author